Fuel Pump Lesson Learned

Justwondering

Reaction score
I will admit I am a novice on car repair.
I learned a very valuable lesson regarding installing or generally mucking around with the mechanical fuel pump in my 87 Fifth Avenue.

InkedM60519_P04_ANG__ra_p_LI.jpg

Put a wrench on the connector shown by the red arrow if you plan on mucking with the fuel lines.

I did not.

My non-start, fuel issue is entirely my own fault.
Because I did not use a wrench on the connector and removed/reattached lines to ensure I didn't have things cross threaded or loose --
apparently I cracked the housing just behind the connector on the fuel pump.

It let just enough air in to cause problems but not enough to spew fuel.

I felt like such an idiot when my mechanic told me what the problem was.
Its so obvious in hindsight that the shape of the connector is screaming -- use a wrench.

Sigh

I have to get the car inspected and it comes home today after I pay for the help.

JW

volare 77

Reaction score
Your not alone. We all have made mistakes while learning to work on our cars. At least it wasn`t too costly of a repair. Hopefully they installed a quality pump as the airtek brand usually lasts a week or so. LOL BTW, rubber fuel line hose can do the same thing. When they crack they can cause suction issues even though they aren`t dripping fuel.

Last edited:

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
Over the years, I have learned many a lesson the hard way. Sometimes by getting into a hurry (which causes more problems, by the way), not using the correct tools and the list goes on.

Part of me thinks I should have put up a “display of shame” on my garage wall with objects I’ve ruined over the years, to remind me to take my time and do it right the first time. Maybe even to teach my 12½ year old twins something. To be honest – I would have to build another garage just for the “wrecked” displays (but I won’t).
BudW

80mirada

Reaction score