School me on used auto part shopping!

moreada

Reaction score
I have a Mirada with a 2bbl Lean burn 318, and came across this ad. I presume the carb needs a rebuild, but does this look worth inquiring about?

1974 Dodge/Chrysler 318 340/360 4-barrel Intake and Carb | Engine & Engine Parts | Oshawa / Durham Region | Kijiji

I am a bit new to buying used parts and such, but am looking to ditch the lean burn, and will be doing the usual bolt ons in time as well - headers, exhaust, cam and heads, but wonder if this may be a good start for a nice peppy street setup. Thanks

78VOLAREWAG

Reaction score
I have a Mirada with a 2bbl Lean burn 318, and came across this ad. I presume the carb needs a rebuild, but does this look worth inquiring about?

1974 Dodge/Chrysler 318 340/360 4-barrel Intake and Carb | Engine & Engine Parts | Oshawa / Durham Region | Kijiji

I am a bit new to buying used parts and such, but am looking to ditch the lean burn, and will be doing the usual bolt ons in time as well - headers, exhaust, cam and heads, but wonder if this may be a good start for a nice peppy street setup. Thanks
I would nab it! I would want know if it is EGR or not.

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
It took me a while to figure out what 78VolareWag was saying - but I believe it say "I would nab it! I would want to know if it is EGR or not".

The intake shown does have EGR.
It might worth $75.00 - but I recommend to pass and get something else (explained in next post).
BudW

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
Moreada, where about do you reside at? The answer is not too critical but it is helpful.

I see and I have a few questions about the ad you have presented.
74 intake TQ m.jpg

The intake is cast iron – and is not fun for us old timers to install (or even remove) when bent over a fender.