Window regulator

Reaction score
I have an 81 diplomat wagon and i was wondering if there is some other car i could get a window regulator from, its manual windows and the gears are stripped. I found lots of fifth avenues around but they are all power windows, dont know if that would work.

20200621_180301.jpg

Aspen500

Reaction score
Power regulator is different than manual. F and M body wagons and 4 door sedans all have the same window regulators, it may be easier to find a manual one in an Aspen or Volare.

MiradaCMX80

Reaction score
Following.....right side (Manual) moon shaped regulator gear is missing teeth at the top....

MoparDan

Reaction score
I have an 81 diplomat wagon and i was wondering if there is some other car i could get a window regulator from, its manual windows and the gears are stripped. I found lots of fifth avenues around but they are all power windows, dont know if that would work.
I knew a guy in CT who replaced a door (or maybe more then one I can't remember) on an AHB, it had manual windows, but the replacement door(s?) were power, so he'd converted them to manual, and he told me if he'd known how much of a headache it was to do, he would've just waited to find manual window doors...I had a Diplomat with power windows at the time and planned on converting them since the motors weren't working well and he told me don't!

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
I have converted these cars from manual windows to power windows and it is not for the faint of heart. I would only recommend it if a person is doing a restoration or major overhaul of the car (it is that big of a job).