1978 - 1979 differences?

Locomotion

Reaction score
F-body newbie questions -

1) Are there any exterior differences between the 1978 and 1979 Dodge Aspens, particularly the wagons?
I know they changed grilles and taillights a few times throughout the years. But I'm still learning when changes were made.

2) Do F-bodies require their own particular 4 bbl throttle cables or will some E/B body cable work? Square firewall hole?

slant6billy

Reaction score
Autozone had the 4bbl throttle cable for under 25 bucks. I just got one last month, but can't find the receipt. The 78 and 79 Aspen Wagons are identical from Grille to tail lights. As for the colors available, there may be some varied options. The 78 coupe and sedan is the only year with a yellow/ amber turn signal on the rear tail lights. The housing is the same. Note there is obviously an extra set of bulbs for the turn signals in 78 coupes/ 4 doors.

Locomotion

Reaction score
Cool. Thank you! I ask because of the possible advantages of claiming the wagon I have as a '78 over a '79 in NHRA Stock. :book1: So far I see that they have basically the same engines, BUT they allow both, the small TQ as well as the large TQ in '78! Small TQ only in '79. Don't ask me why. There are a lot of little quirks in the rules. Another interesting fact is that they factor just about all of the 360's in Aspens & Volares at the same 289 HP. It doesn't matter if the engine has a big or small TQ or if it has a big or small cam. It is what it is due to their HP factoring system and how many racers ran fast enough over the years to get those combos factored up in HP.

Maybe it's a good "sign". I've been running my Dart Sport as a '75 for many years with good luck. I graduated in '75. Maybe running the Aspen wagon as a '78 will bring me good luck as well. I started drag racing in '78! :toothy9:

Locomotion

Reaction score