1980 Dodge Diplomat question!

SlantSixSullivan

Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm a new member to this site, and I'm new to M bodies as well. Previously, I have owned the good ol' A bodies, Darts and Valiants. All with slant sixes in them. For daily use, I was never dissapointed or let down by the slant. I am purchasing a 1980 Diplomat which, of course, has a slant six in it. I had planned to swap a Valiant slant with a 360 with a 727 trans and 8.25" rear, for the sole purpose of gaining power. I had since totalled the car at the fault of a texting driver, and found this Diplomat as a replacement. Here is my question: Just how much more power will I get out of this stock 360 with auto trans? I'm not looking for high performance, just something a little bit more fun than what I'd been used to so far. I understand the M bodies are roughly the same size and weight as the A bodies, so this setup will be close to what I had been planning anyway. It seems the slant in this Dippy is a tad weak, which I partially blame on the emissions nonsense they started in the mid-70s. If I do the swap and remove all emissions, I hope to notice a great difference in power. Any questions or comments are most certainly welcome!

diplomat.jpg

diplomat1.jpg

diplomat2.jpg

Justwondering

Reaction score
Nice looking ride!
I'm a car novice but there are many great wrenchers here that will chime in with opinions...

LSM360

Reaction score
The A bodies were a little lighter than the M bodies, especially the early A's. What 360 are you going to use? It's certainly going to make more power than a slanty, but they suffered from the emissions regulations too, e.g. low compression. Do you already have one in mind? Are you going to build it? A 360/727/8.25 can be a nice combo. The 8.25 is lighter than the 8.75, more readily available, less expensive and pretty reliable if you're not going to build something with monster h.p.

SlantSixSullivan

Reaction score