6x9 In A 5x7 Hole

Darth-Car

Reaction score
Greetings to the FMJ World!

Well it was time to retire the factory 5x7 speakers in the rear deck for some 6x9's that I rescued from my late C body front drive New Yorker, before it went to car heaven.

Some folks have talked of cutting the metal in the package shelf to a 6x9 size opening, but I am not good with fancy cutting tools. That must be why I do not own any.

Some folks have made wooden 6x9 forms that they bolt to the bottom of the package shelf to accommodate the new speakers for a bottom mount. Wood forms require that cutting thing again. Bad idea for me.

So I needed a better solution. Yes I had to disassemble the entire package shelf, sail panels, and rear window surround to get the top loaded 5x7's out; but I knew I wanted to future proof my 6x9 install. So if I had a speaker failure in the future I could just drop a bad speaker in the trunk, and place a new one up in its place.

My other problem was that these new speakers had elevated tweeters. If I bolted them directly to the package shelf the tweeters would hit the fiber board over-layment.

Solution: The rubber fuel line spacer. I made a template of the speaker mount holes, and from inside the car drilled my new holes through the package shelf. Then I took a sheet metal screw, and placed it through the bottom hole on the speaker. Then I placed a section of fuel line on the screw, and attached the screw from the underside of the package shelf. The screw provides the space for the tweeter, and gives the speaker some vent room, since it does not have a complete 6x9 opening to sound through.

IMG_20160612_173500909.jpg

volareandgtcat

Reaction score