79 Volare snog advice

barbee6043

Reaction score
I am new to the F body worked but have owned many mopars since mid 80's, the newest model being a 76 feather duster a couple years back. this Volare I picked up (slant car), is totally original, ...all the vacuum hoses are there,,etc, looks like all the other snog parts too. w hich ones actually work?? ha....
I really dislike all that "extra" stuff, always loved the simplicity of basically 69 and older A and B bodies.
I realize I could take off most of the snog stuff and redo the vacuum lines a s needed, and toss those parts and pieces in a box for the :next" guy.... but........... I feel sorta guilty doing that... what to do?????

Cordoba1

Reaction score
If the car is running great, I vote "leave it alone." On my low millage Slant 6 Doba, all the emissions stuff is doing what it is supposed to: all the timers, all the solenoids, even the IAC works. On cold days, when you let off the gas; about 3 seconds later the pedal comes back another 1/8 or so hitting the bottom of my foot. I like the fact that all he doo-dads are doing thing -- and subsequently, the car runs as it did from the factory.

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
I’m on the same thought as Cordoba1. If it is working fine, leave it alone. You can do a lot of work and will not realize any power gains.

With that said, if I was performing a major overhaul, upgrading to a V-8 and so forth, I might be tempted not to reinstall several items.

If a part or function quit working, then I can see disabling or tossing parts.

You can spend 2-3 hours tossing parts, hoses and other things and might lose a total of 30 pounds (which I carry a lot more than that, extra, in my trunk), pickup 0 horsepower and 0 MPG.

Granted, you will have a cleaner underhood area.

If I was going to spend 2 or 3 hours doing something, I want something back in return (fixing broke parts don’t count).

Also, what if you had to move to California (or another Emissions state)?
BudW