A/C Condenser To Trans Cooler?

greyghost

Reaction score
Howdy folks. I'm a newbie to the forum and from things that I've read I think I may have found the right place to bounce around ideas I have for my '79 LeBaron. The A/C in the car has been dead for a long time. It was dead before I bought the car from my brother 10 years ago. I removed the compressor and hoses from the engine bay and was considering using the condenser as a trans cooler. The car currently has a trans cooler that is about 8"x9" and wire tied to the front of the condenser. Any thoughts on this idea of mine?

jasperjacko

Reaction score
Welcome to the show. I think it would be too restrictive and you would lose too much pressure.

greyghost

Reaction score
Welcome to the show. I think it would be too restrictive and you would lose too much pressure.
I've been taking some measurements and here's what I got: the lines from the trans are 5/16" od. One of them goes directly to the radiator and I assume this one to be oil out from the trans. The other line coming from the radiator is going through 8"x8"x1.5" thick fins with coil lines 3/4" dia. and the line coming out from here is 5/16" heading back to the trans. The 3/4" coil passes through the cooling fins 4 times. I might also add that it is currently located right behind the 8" bumper so I don't know how effective it is as far as getting air.

The A/C condenser has 3/8" lines and both incoming and outgoing are teed into double 3/8" coil lines passing 18 times through 24"x17"x2" thick fins. Does anybody have any thoughts about this? Jasper, do you still think it's too restrictive? Have I provided enough info?

Last edited:

jasperjacko

Reaction score
yes I do because of the number of turns, and the overall length added to the system.

greyghost

Reaction score
yes I do because of the number of turns, and the overall length added to the system.