Can you polish plastic?

XfbodyX

Reaction score
I was getting ready to prep and install the nos lower drivers side of the dash on a project and its got some light scratches in the gloss black plastic.

Im wondering if I could polish this part, maybe 2000 or higher wet sand? Its not like a used one or one thats been in the heat its a good bit more pliable and flexible so Im not worried about it wanting to turn to dust like some depleted plastic parts.

Since its below eye level it doesnt have to turn out 100% just close.

HELP< HELP can I do this?

DSC00035.JPG

DSC00037.JPG

DSC00038.JPG

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
I have no firsthand experience on this, but I do know plastic can be polished and scratches can be rendered less of a problem. There are kits to polish clear plastic headlights which do a great job at it. I don’t see a reason why it wouldn’t work for you, as well.

My question is most of those panels I see, has some texture to them – or maybe my memory isn’t what it used to be. Hum, I need to go look again. I would think having texture would be harder to do something with.

I’m guessing you are not wanting to paint/dye it?

I’m curious on how this turns out (good, bad or indifferent). Would you mind taking and posting pictures on progress, please?

On to a different topic, I saw this and said "hum...".
DSC00035a.jpg

BudW

XfbodyX

Reaction score
Correct im not wanting to paint or dye (but im not a hater of either) because every single dash part is nos and no matter how dye is there is only one org. look, at least I think so. If I wanted to dye or paint id of used nice used parts.

Now for the spot you said hmmm, on, I said "Oh shit" when I seen your pic, and had to go lookie.

And it turns out it was the shadow from a fold in the sheet.

DSC00039.JPG

This is an untouched org. dash and you can tell its got a bit different look then a painted or dyed one, still no hate for dye or paint.

Dash.jpg

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score