Dare I?

drpreposterous

Reaction score
What say you?

Those of you who have seen my posts know I've been looking for a good M in the hope/delusion that it could serve as a daily. My needs aren't great. I am semi-retired--work three days a week, though that commute is 50 miles round trip. I am a good nurse but lousy with a wrench. I am a humble check writer who must pay for all his maintenance and repairs...

My sensible side is considering a later (2006-2011) Crown Vic or Grand Marquis. Those tend to be in the $3500 to 6500 range, depending on mileage. Mileage between 45K and 150k.

My "delusional" side tells me getting a choice, rust-free and lovely M for $3,500 or so, and getting a top-end rebuild (got an excellent rebuilder on tap) with electronic ignition would be just as reliable. Check this puppy out. He's listed for $4k but texted he would take $3,500. Granny's old ride updated with calipers, wire wheels and a sound system...
1986 fifth ave

What say you? Am I delusional to suppose the M can match the Crown Vic's reliability? (I know it won't match safety, economy).

BTW, check this beauty out for the same price but 600 miles from me...
1986 Chrysler Fifth Avenue

00G0G_lFTMe1MkiOu_1200x900.jpg

00w0w_gD7SxiBNxJU_1200x900.jpg

00707_8Mg5L4uKloo_1200x900.jpg

00707_RAgM0vVIhl_1200x900.jpg

00909_kvwwPGUR1Yx_1200x900.jpg

Justwondering

Reaction score
My vote is NO to the grand marquis.
I intensely dislike the way your body is 'sideways' in the front seat.

Okay, not sideways, but not sitting straight. I always feel like my feet and lower body are about 10 degrees to the middle and my upper body is sitting straight behind the wheel.
Makes my back hurt or my hip hurt and no matter what I never get comfortable.

Its the same weird orientation in Jeeps/Grand Cherokees from those years.

I'd go with the M-body.