Rear end question

Mirada512

Reaction score
So I have an 8.25 suregrip and I would prefer the 8.75 rear end. The measurements between the two for spring perches are as follows j body 44.46" and the 62-70 b body is 44". So my question is is the .46 going to make a difference when bolting up or will they have to be cut off and rewelded to 44.46. I'm new at this so bare with me, thanks for any help!

F37BC13E-E81F-4472-90CC-2B4F4A121FE6.jpeg

Camtron

Reaction score
Don’t HAVE to be relocated, but will turn the springs inboard. With what you’re planning, it’s worth cutting and welding them in the right location for spring rate/geometry sake.

Mirada512

Reaction score
Don’t HAVE to be relocated, but will turn the springs inboard. With what you’re planning, it’s worth cutting and welding them in the right location for spring rate/geometry sake.
Thank you, I don't want to have any issues with the rear. I'll have some one reweld the perches. I just had to ask to make sure.

Duke5A

Reaction score

I second this. I ran an 8.75" out of a '66 Coronet and just redrilled the purches. You could actually see the inward bow in the springs from behind the car. That 1/2" makes a huge difference. Eventually I had the perches put in the correct placement.

Overall width of the axle is just fine. 275 and even 285 tires will fit.

M_Body_Coupe

Reaction score
I agree with the guys re: doing it right...however...I have not done this re-location, and I honestly can't say that has ever caused me a problem...maybe it's just because I don't know what to look for???

I will say the following: my setup has the correct pinion angle and is using shims to get it to where I wanted it to be...which perhaps meant that this 0.23" on each side really got eaten up in whatever +/- normally one sees.

SRTMirada

Reaction score