The Day The Music Died

Jack Meoff

Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
Just read in the news that HMV is going under.
One of the last remaining "music" stores.
This got me thinking...
Is it because of the internet?
Possibly, but not altogether...I think.
Even though you can buy/steal pretty much any song you want,
If an album is really good, I want to own the "physical" copy.
I like running through the liner notes and checking out the cover, etc..
Sure, it's not the same as good old vinyl
The big 15" cover, but still it's nice to have the artwork and all

So...
Why the musical retail plunge?

To me, it's a no brainer (literally)
There is no music anymore.
A skeletal representation of what it was maybe
But really...
If Bieber and Lady Gaga is as good as it gets music is truly in the grave
To an extent I've never before witnessed either.

I've been a professional musician for over 30 years
I've seen musical brilliance and musical diarrhea
But there's always been a fundamental factor of "You must be THIS tall to get on the ride"
I remember all to clearly when recording itself was an art form.
Back in the day, Abbey Road had "Balance Engineers"
And they were truly schooled engineers
They went to school just to be able to spin tapes
After you learned enough "maybe" you were actually "allowed"to record something.
Or at least assist the lead engineer.
With all that hanging over your head you had better have had your sh*t together going into the studio.

Just to give an example of what the playing field used to be like
Here's a little example of what was involved in making a song.

Just for laughs, lets take New York New York by Frank Sinatra,
Okay so first you write the song, fairly complicated chord structure when it comes down to it
And it is a song which in the classic structure of a pop song
It should at the very least have...
An intro, a verse, what's known as a pre chorus and of course a chorus
Most decently written pop songs usually have a "C"part or"bridge"