A Gorgeous J Body in Mexico City 9-2017

marty mopar

Reaction score
1405.JPG

1406.JPG

1407.JPG

marty mopar

Reaction score
So this gem was being towed by an old Opel that looked 60 times better than this sad ass Mopar.
I still say the 80-83 Miradas and Cordobas have no equal in the pile of crap dept. as far as the quality
of interior and exterior trim. This was perhaps on its way to the junk yard.

Note the length of the tow chain....scary!!!!!

Picture taken the day after the earthquake...I was in the airport when it hit.
Weird when the ground moves and the lights overhead started to swing. You start to run...everybody did.

marty mopar

Reaction score
over 300 died, it was the 2nd one in a month. 10,000 died in the 1985 quake there.
I made it through 2 hurricanes and an earthquake in 2 months in the northern part of the state of Puebla.

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
We have been getting earthquakes every other week, in Oklahoma, in the last few years.

I am no expert (far from it in this case), but I suspect the ground is settling from the absence of oil (being pumped out) which is holding the ground up - might be a possible cause.
Oklahoma (and Mexico) are large oil producers.

BudW
Oklahoma City (home of the tornado-quakes)

kkritsilas

Reaction score
Crude oil doesn't hold up the ground, nor does the ground settle when it it removed. Conventional oil is a liquid, thick as it may be. If it were supporting the ground at some point, the enormous pressure if the ground above it would have made it flow to another location; there is no ground that oil is found in that is sealed up so tight that the oil would have been kept in place with that amount of pressure; that is why almost all oil deposits have some air space above them, and in most cases, water sitting on top of the oil.