Alternators

Camtron

Reaction score
I’m getting ready to order brackets and pulleys from, CVF Racing for my small block and they ask, if I’m using a Mopar or GM type alternator…I’m figuring since our cars use the alternator with the two dog ears to mount it to the bracket, it’s a GM type. From what I remember, Mopar alternators have one dog ear and the two small holes to run bolts through the bracket. Is that correct?
Just trying to get some clarity before I unload a bunch of cash.

AMC Diplomat

Reaction score
Yeah mopar has 1 ear and two bolt holes, but I'm not an expert. It's what's on mine
20230916_122256.jpg20230617_154714.jpg

Camtron

Reaction score
Exactly what I needed to know/see. Appreciate it, thank you.
Yeah mopar has 1 ear and two bolt holes, but I'm not an expert. It's what's on mine
View attachment 50910View attachment 50911
What year is your Diplomat? Curious when/why they changed the brackets and alts to GM set ups. Then again there’s a number of GM parts on our cars, wonder if that was just a cash saving option instead of developing/making shit in house.

AMC Diplomat

Reaction score
What year is your Diplomat? Curious when/why they changed the brackets and alts to GM set ups. Then again there’s a number of GM parts on our cars, wonder if that was just a cash saving option instead of developing/making shit in house.
Mine is an 87. It actually had the wrong mopar alternator on it when I got it. It cross referenced for a truck. I have a mopar remanufactured alternator on it now. Not that it matters too much. That style of alternator was used for decades in all different vehicles.

Yours had a GM in it? I didn't know that was a thing. I'll go look in my parts book from 88 and see what it says

80mirada

Reaction score