Can the 1988 2bbl 318 handle boost?

8v-of-fury

Reaction score
Looking at doing a blow through setup on the bone stock 120,000km 318 in my 5th.

Ive been thinking about this for years.. but the recent engine masters turbo 5.0 sealed the deal.

I likely wont use a used powerstroke turbo like they did, and infact use a better wheeled smaller turbo to keep the torque down low and hp under around 5000rpm.

The only difference i can see really between the 5.0 and this 5.2 is we may not have the forged bottom end they have.

slant6billy

Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I am going down the path of throwing some boost into a motor. Now, your 88 318 has 9 to 1 compression (likely if not all blowed by). So if you put way too much boost, you will grenade the motor. On the cheap, get some smaller turbos from a K car set up with blow off valves and all. I would suggest mocking them up like a ford ecoboost V6 with a turbo banked on the pass side and one the driver. See if you can get a small inner cooler or air heat exchanger . Heat is your power robber. Smaller turbos will spool up real quick and you will have great bottom end. You could do this on the cheap, since the k car turbos are still readily available. Now if you still want to get boost and turbo is not the path, there are supercharged Pontiacs with Sprint X superchargers from the late 90s and early 2000s. Nissan Path finder has a blower as well. Don't try looking for the Thunderbird supercoupes, they are money for parts. I'm going a different avenue with the supercharger. I like the look of the top mount Weiand 871, but it is almost impossible to get to the distributor for tuning. So the chevy kits for Powerdyne, Paxton, Whipple, and Pro charger will work on a small block non magnum mopar with some bracket mods. I'm holding out for a chevy guy to sell me used small block blower system. As for boost numbers I plan to go with 5 or 6 psi and once tuned go full tilt @ 12 to 16 psi of boost. I wouldn't be happy if I did n