fuel pump question

Monkeyed

Reaction score
After seeing cap'n's exploits with his failing, I'm going to change mine. That and the check valve is gone, it couldn't hurt, cheap insurance anyway.

My dumb question is, how can I tell if I need the one with the external oil cooler, or not?

Monkeyed

Reaction score
rockauto has two different one's with, or without an external oil cooler, but they look identical. I'm not sure how to tell which one is on my fifth

Jack Meoff

Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
I have the non cooler on my Fifth.
When I looked on Summit, Carter doesn't even list a cooler one.
I'm 99.9% positive that all Fifth's are non.

I personally have never even seen the oil cooler model
Didn't even know there was one till now....
Mine has a fuel in and fuel out and that's it.

However....saying that keep in mind I'm a driveway mechanic

Monkeyed

Reaction score
I'm pretty ssure the check valve has gone bad. After it sits for too long I have to let it crank for at least a minute before it'll start normally. All the fuel is leaking past the valve and it has to refill the line from the tank, then fill the floats bowl's again.

Monkeyed

Reaction score
I have the non cooler on my Fifth.
When I looked on Summit, Carter doesn't even list a cooler one.
I'm 99.9% positive that all Fifth's are non.

I personally have never even seen the oil cooler model
Didn't even know there was one till now....
Mine has a fuel in and fuel out and that's it.

However....saying that keep in mind I'm a driveway mechanic

lol same here. the non cooler one's cost an extra $10, but are also better manufacturers, so go figure. all NAPA has are non's, but I thought I should check anyway

Jack Meoff

Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
I'm pretty ssure the check valve has gone bad. After it sits for too long I have to let it crank for at least a minute before it'll start normally. All the fuel is leaking past the valve and it has to refill the line from the tank, then fill the floats bowl's again.