Fuel tank fatigue

slant6billy

Reaction score
So when I filled up, I would see a drip every now and then. so today I got under the Volare and dropped the tank. I thought the vent line on the Passenger side was the problem. Nope! I found a small pin hole just above there in the flat top spot. The rest of the tank looks good. So I am going with the JB weld fix since I am short on the funds to get the new tank. My dad was a wiz with tank repair, he was a steamfitter by trade and could fab up anything and fix f- ups. Wish I had his crafty hands. So I am looking the pull the fill tube out without wrecking the donut. I figure I can lengthen the tube to slide the tank over one rib. Can I just pull it and then reseal it with the fuel / RTV sealant around the donut for the fill tube or do I hunt for a new one?

greymouser7

Reaction score
I bought one for an a-body I think and it was a tad small, but with some vasoline it went on no problem. Try a B-body ring or something. I don't think that they are more than a few bucks each. Not sure how shipping is to you across the border though-I sent some paint masks to a guy in a shoe box and the post office wante $50 bucks. That is allot of Maple Syrup.

slant6billy

Reaction score
I'll see if the local part store can get me a donut. I was thinking vasoline too. That stuff on everything all my pool's o rings are vasied up and no leaks. I just work my neighbor's stang and sure enough the fill tube is now leaking. I was sure it would had held, but it was a beotch to get out and put the pump in. My hands still reek of gas.

Monkeyed

Reaction score
Gas eats all RTV.