How do you all feel about this adjustable advance HEI distributor?

8v-of-fury

Reaction score
It claims to be a 2-wire hook-up, where you give it 12v and run an external coil of your choice.. I assume a high powered one?

They also claim it has an easily adjustable mechanical advance.. which is pretty damn cool to me. (pardon my ignorance if this is not desirable, i am pretty new to distributor/carb engines.. mostly diesel knowledge)

The distributor in question.

Back story, last year I converted my grandmothers 1988 5th (318) from a 2bbl ESA/ELB to a 4bbl 850cfm thermoquad.

Below are some threads, links and videos to familiarize yourself with what I am working with

The post regarding all my original swap questions and the swap itself.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5FZD7nkJVU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiFB2WPgH_8

The electronic conversion kit I am using. << As it would appear looking back at the info for this dizzy, I bought high-performance one! LOL 7500rpm and a WILD advance curve!

The reason I am asking for your opinion on the adjustable distributor is because the proform one comes on pretty hot, and for a stock 318smogger with stock everything but the ignition and an addition of a 4 barrel.. It is fairly hard to get tuned properly. The adjustable mechanical advance seems like it would be worth the price to me.

How do you all feel?

8v-of-fury

Reaction score
Did some reading, even the Mallory race ready distributors come with a preset 20* of mechanical advance.. Could the one I have possibly be more?! I guess i need to get back in there with a light and subtract my initial timing to see eh?

Again, sorry.. carbs and distributor tuning is all new-ish to me. Been around them, but no tuning experience.

Aspen500

Reaction score