2018 is the Year of the M (well, I'm hoping...)

drpreposterous

Reaction score
Hello, M-Nuts! Knowing your passion and expertise with all things M, I'm hoping you won't mind dispensing some advice.

I will be turning in a Jeep Renegade lease in June this year. When that happens, I want an M-body in its place as a daily. I can probably dish out anywhere from $8 to $12K on my next daily. I am not a wrench artist nor likely to become one given my job (Charge Nurse) and private responsibilities (disabled sister, elderly neighbor, volunteer gigs). So, I'll be paying for any work. Then again, if I find a "done," I won't mind that either!

Of course, I'm aware the rest of the world wouldn't rate a superb Fifth Avenue or its brother Ms at more than say, $3,500 USD. I place no particular premium on performance nor fuel economy (though a sleeper would be fun!). My commute is short and surface streets. The higher values for me are reliability and safety (yeah, I know it won't match a modern car). Could you please rate the following as:

1. Must have 2. Desirable 3. okay 4. Not worth it/don't do it.

1. Oil undercoating (or Rust Bullet, POR-15) etc. Annual?
2. PST or Firm Feel suspension--full deal.
3. Ditto with steering upgrade/rebuild.
4. Upgrade discs to 11.75? What about 4k-wheel discs?
5. Sure Grip? I've driven RWD most of my life, so winter driving is no scare.
6. Electronic Ignition (which)?
7. Holley Sniper fuel injection or ditch the Lean Burn another way?
8. Radiator upgrade
9. 360 swap
10. Fun stuff you'd do once the safe 'n reliable stuff is done...

I know that's a lengthy little list. I am acutely aware it would be dubious to put a lot of money into something an insurance company would pay out only $1100 for if wrecked. But ya only live once. And I wanna live Mopar. So let's hear what you think! And if you want to make driveway space...

Last edited:

Justwondering

Reaction score
I plan to live vicariously through you and this car!