Can I put the air assisted shocks in the back of my '88 5th?

M Body General Discussion

1. 8v-of-fury

8v-of-fury Well-Known Member

Not necessarily to tow anything (although I'd like a hitch on it eventually..) but when I have my own fat ass plus 3 other people she's well loaded down lol. The leafs are pretty soft, so I imagine it is really the only way aside from stronger leaf springs to be able to have the rear end handle more weight.

Untitled.png

2. Mikes5thAve

Mikes5thAve Well-Known Member

If your leaf springs are original it would be worth looking at replacing them or finding a shop to add a leaf especially if it's a regular occurrence.
    The top shock mount is sheet metal and not made to take a heavy load. But people have used air springs with no problems before.

3. Sub03

Sub03 Member

I've been using those air shocks in my Aspen for a couple of years now, and I'm more than pleased with how they're holding up.

The Aspen's rear was sagging a bit, so with stock front end height I was looking too raise it an inch or so without breaking my budget. I'm running 55 psi pressure in them which gives the rear kind of a solid feeling compared to the old shocks.
    I also used some exhaust wrapping around the pipe at the axle bend to protect the boot a little.

I know the right way is replacing or rearching the leafs, but it's really hard to get this done here in Norway unless I take a second mortgage. I know of a five leaf setup from a parted out wagon, so maybe next spring...

4. Lightning II

Lightning II Active Member

Nobody local makes leaf springs over there?

5. Sub03

Sub03 Member

Found a truckshop in Oslo (about two hours from here) which makes leaf springs. But with the high hourly rates here, ordering new ones from the states will be cheaper.

6. Duke5A

Duke5A Well-Known Member

Air shocks are going to make your car ride like shit. Don't do it.

7. Duke5A

Duke5A Well-Known Member