Flooding on the 5th

Master M

Reaction score
Well the 5th won't leave the garage on its own power. It started fine yesterday and I got out of the car for a second, and it idled slow enough and died. I tried a restart and it was completely flooded. I let it sit for a whole day. I came back today and it still acts and smells flooded when I try to start it. I was able to keep it running for a couple minutes but it ran real bad and very rich ( lots of smoke ) the whole couple minutes. This car has 32,000 orig miles. Everything tune up has been performed, carb rebuilt by a professional before I got it. ( scary ) although the outside of the carb looks new.
This has been happening on a smaller scale since I have owned it, but eventually it would start and run very smooth. So I have no experience with the electronic mixture solenoid. Could that be the problem or should I look for a stuck or gas soaked carb float or sticking needle ? ( 6280 carb ) Thanks for any suggestions.

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
You might want to add your car type on your signature page OR describe your car for each thread.

Based off of his description, I think the problem is fuel level related, than choke related.
That said, I suspect the plastic float absorbed fuel (and sunk) or trash is keeping the needle/seat from sealing off the fuel.

The computer controlled carburetor aspect will not cause this problem.

What you need is a second person to help OR purchase a remote starter button.
Hold choke blade open and crank engine over while looking down carburetor throat. You are not trying to start car, but if it does – don’t worry.
What you are looking for is fuel leaking from (anywhere) inside of carburetor throat – except for the accelerator pump jets (only when you push throttle back).
I suspect you will see fuel dripping from the booster venturi’s or along (inside) side of carburetor. If so, the fuel level is too high due to bad float or needle/seat problem.