Greetings!

Stonekij31

Reaction score
My name is Josh and I have been rebuilding a 79 Volare duster with a slant 6 for 8 years. The closer I get to done…the harder it seems. I upgraded the cam, carb, intake, exhaust, etc…but I can’t seem to advance the timing enough, the brake pedal won’t match up to the new brake booster and the body panels aren’t going back on very easily. Besides that…it’s a great car. Would love any help I can get. The goal was to drive this for my wedding in a few weeks, but I feel like id need a miracle at this point.

AMC Diplomat

Reaction score
A 79 Plymouth Volare with the Duster trim package? Cool!

Camtron

Reaction score
What specs on cam, carb, intake, ect? How is it running? If it is, what’s your timing at? Have a link to the brake booster you purchased?
Congratulations on the coming marriage.

Stonekij31

Reaction score
Thanks! I provided the cam specs. It feels like it’s choking out. It’ll start with choke closed, runs for a moment…then slowly dies out. I’ve tried opening the choke, that also kills it. I’ve tried giving it a little gas, backfires a little then gives out. Im going to clean the carb. The carb is an edelbrock 1404 500cfm model. On hold now with comp cams to see what they say. Offenhauser intake, Hooker headers. I need to advance the timing a bit more, but if you’re familiar with the slant six, it only turns so far before removing and adjusting the cap. I also added the specs for the brake booster. I appreciate any help!

7994364D-84A6-49DC-AE1C-015E8D1D21E9.jpeg

10301C31-A9A5-4693-8604-D7C51FE52BB6.jpeg

1D62AA14-2B80-41D9-81B5-AD9DA10DED3B.jpeg

Camtron

Reaction score
Did it backfire through the carb or the exhaust? Not enough fuel if through the carb, too much fuel if through the exhaust.