Looking for bumpers without vertical rubbers

SlantSixSullivan

Reaction score
I have a two door Diplomat and it needs a rear bumper. I would like to find one without the little vertical rubber things. Will post pictures to be clear. I have seen some M bodies with these bumpers. I am wondering if they are available as re-pops or if there's a good source for decent used ones. Thanks

Russell

0-468539.jpg

0-468540.jpg

IMG9522221.jpg

IMG9522201.jpg

Aspen500

Reaction score
There are no repop bumpers (or anything else for that matter) for F/M/J body. Your best bet is to search for a good used one and have it replated. Where to get a good used one, that's the million dollar question. Not sure what happened to Deconstructor Jim, he sort of vanished off the face of the earth but he might be able to come up with one out in the desert SW, if we can find him. Hopefully, he's OK.

SlantSixSullivan

Reaction score
There are no repop bumpers (or anything else for that matter) for F/M/J body. Your best bet is to search for a good used one and have it replated. Where to get a good used one, that's the million dollar question. Not sure what happened to Deconstructor Jim, he sort of vanished off the face of the earth but he might be able to come up with one out in the desert SW, if we can find him. Hopefully, he's OK.

So people are removing the verticals, welding the bolt holes, and having them replated? I thought there might have been a certain model without the verticals. Thanks for the info. One other thing; do you know anything about tucking the bumpers inboard? They stick out WAY far. Of course I understand why. But I'd like a sleek look

M_Body_Coupe

Reaction score
Yeah, I've been sort-of looking for the same thing. The re-plate on my current '80 coupe is not all that great, and the '81 will certainly need a good piece...but like you, I've never been able to narrow it down to a specific model year, or option features for that matter.