Newbie about to score an '85 Fifth Avenue; your ideas wanted for upgrades

drpreposterous

Reaction score
'Greetings one and all!

I am new to this forum and am just about to drop some modest dollars on an amazingly well preserved '85 5th Avenue. This will be my daily driver and, as such, I want to put some money into it to make it more responsive and reliable.

Since the purchase price is so low, I have $2,000/2,500 to spend on it afterwards. Please keep in mind, I am a good nurse, but no wrench turner. The work will be farmed out to a pro.

So where should I start?

• Ditch the Lean Burn?
  • New carb and intake?
  • Dual exhaust?
  • Suspension upgrade?
  • New brake and fuel lines?

Please let me know what you think.

Thank you!
Brian

ramenth

Reaction score
First advice, you don't need to farm it out to a pro. Step by steps can be found on here for all the upgrades with the membership more than willing to help out along the way. The money you save that way can go into more mods and upgrades.

I usually don't ditch the lean burn until it starts giving problems. But, it's not a bad upgrade right from the start.

A four barrel intake and carb along with a set of headers and dual exhaust will wake it up a bit and make it more fun to drive.

Dumping all the rubber in the suspension is a huge improvement.

New brake and fuel lines? Only if they're rusty and about to break through.

Jack Meoff

Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
Welcome once again..
I'm guessing you passed on the LeBaron.....

As far as your Fifth....Robert has given you some great suggestions including doing a fair bit of it yourself. There's lots of help to be had on here.
I'm a driveway mechanic myself and am by no means an "expert" and get a lot of help and guidance from the good folks here.

I have a Fifth myself and it's my daily driver.
Bone stock...still has the lean burn on it.

I guess my question would be....what do you want it to be?