Newbie from New York

twood21

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm just getting into the FMJ Mopars and am torn between two vehicles to purchase. Like I said I'm new to these types of Mopars as I just got out of an A-Body. The first isn't a FMJ Body but it's a 79 Cordoba w/ a 360, Sunroof, Turbine Wheel Covers, overall a clean car. The second is a 1980 Plymouth Volare w/ a slant six and again is a clean car all around. I know the Cordobas have more pull in the car market when compared to a Volare. They both have their flaws, but nothing serious. Here are some pics, just looking for a little help.
cordoba.jpg

volare.jpg

cordoba.jpg

volare.jpg

Last edited:

twood21

Reaction score
Well now I just need one person to tell me neither. I think I'm leaning toward the Volare though, the Cordoba's look good but the Volare looks a bit more athletic, even if it isn't.

Monkeyed

Reaction score
Well now I just need one person to tell me neither. I think I'm leaning toward the Volare though, the Cordoba's look good but the Volare looks a bit more athletic, even if it isn't.

the volare does look much better, and the /6 is a stout motor. I just like the oddball, faster than it looks appeal of the 'doba..

Jack Meoff

Mopar Maniac
Reaction score
I like that Doba too
But that's also because I don't have a B......yet.
The Volare is sweet and I for one love those damn Super Sixes as you can probably gather from my list of rides in my signature.

slant6billy

Reaction score
Is the Volare a stick or automatic? Is it a 1BBL carb or 2 BBL? If it is a stick and a 2BBL, that settles it! You'll have more fun with it. If not, get the Volare anyway and get a 4 BBL intake an Edelbrock 500 cfm. Get a timing light and a vacuum gauge - then take a day to set it up. Good luck!

lowbudget

Reaction score
If you want to pick up older, more mature women the Cordoba. For hot, younger babes the Volare.....Just saying

twood21

Reaction score