Random non start condition. 86 dippy

bbdadude

Reaction score
I'm still learning my stuff. This most recent time made me late for work. I first start fine no problems drive 30 mins. Get gas. Try to leave the pump. Turning the key only stops the radio and the fan. Last time this happened I wiggled a wire on the firewall and that's what I thought I did to make it work. I tried wiggling that same wire and still nothing. I started looking up how to start it without the ignition then I randomly tried it and started no problem. Any idea what part I need to replace? Thanks in advance

AMC Diplomat

Reaction score
Does it crank or not? What wire? Stops the fan... the blower motor? There's something missing here that doesn't make sense.
If you want to throw a parts cannon at it you can try this
Screenshot_20231215-131131_Chrome.jpg
But there's more going on here I suspect. Mouse chew any wires?

Mikes5thAve

Reaction score
Can you hear a click when you turn the key from under the hood? If so the starter relay is probably OK. Do you hear any noise from the starter? It could be going bad. If the lights dim when you try to start it chances are good it's the starter.
But also check all the connections at the battery and the starter in case something is loose or corroded.

If it cranks but doesn't start there's something else going on either ignition or fuel related.

bbdadude

Reaction score
It cranks when it wants to. But usually no problems till you try to start it after I turn it off. One of the wires on the part AMC diplomat mentioned. Starting to think it wants to "cool off" before it starts again. When it acts up I don't hear the starter trying to start

bbdadude

Reaction score
It is possible a mouse chewed a wire. I live in the middle of nowhere. A whole snake was in my other truck when I left to go big riggin

Mikes5thAve

Reaction score
Next time if you can turn the wheel to the right and get under the driver side try hitting the starter with something.

GregG48213