rearr quarter extensions

tim berry

Reaction score
I'd be interested if they undertake this. I worked in the plastics industry for years, so I know what it would take. I can't imaging they would create a mold to injection mold the piece. Unless they can create a short-term disposable mold out of sand or something. Real molds can cost up to $100,000. I wonder if they could create a cheap mold and thermoform the parts. You can make those kind of molds out of anything. Issue with thermoforming is it is not as precise and can warp (which is why our OEM parts have the injection molded plastic frame in there).

I hope they can make this work, but I'd see a price of around $750-$1000. The way I look at it, a proper fitting part will save you a ton of time and body shop work. If you are using a body shop, that can cost a lot making the current stuff fit. My body guy gave up and used my a set of older original ones I had hoarded (but were all there) and rebuilt over them. Holding up so far, fingers crossed
Thanks for the comments .
I think your cost structure is spot on . I'm open to all suggestions .
I'll look into who does thermo forming in my area when time permits .

greyghoast

Reaction score
late to this topic ever thought about seeing if replica plastics want to sell their molds

greyghoast

Reaction score
i know people say they suck just wonder if the mold could be reworked

Cordoba1

Reaction score