Steering Coloumn interchange

BudW

Staff member
Reaction score
That is a tricky question.

Chrysler steering columns changed across the board in 1980 to the Saginaw design (like whats currently in your J-body) – so I won't discuss the '76-79 F/M-body columns (which everything is different on).

The '80-89 FMJ Columns are made by Saginaw (GM) and share a lot of parts with GM vehicles of this time era. I have little experience with GM vehicles – but hear many parts will interchange without issue (except for little things like electrical plug-in connectors and things like that).

All '80-89 FMJ columns are the same length from end of column to the steering wheel attachment – which is different from everything else Chrysler used. The front wheel drive cars use the shortest column and pickups use the longest columns.
20200518_191520.jpg

This (tilt) column is from a '84 Gran Fury (M-body)

The upper part of the steering column is the same for ALL Chrysler vehicles from '80 to about '90.
20200518_191633.jpg

If you find a column and it has a short squared off cap on turn signal switch stalk, then the upper parts will (or should) interchange – including steering wheels.
Cruise-Wiper knob.jpg

If the column you find has a rounded off turn signal stalk – then keep walking, there is nothing here for you.
Annotation 2020-04-08 164507.jpg

The lower part of column, where it attaches to the floorboard – will ONLY fit FMJ vehicles and the plate is shaped like this:
20200518_191642.jpg

A person can take another (non J-body columns) and might be able to switch out the lower plate (from an FMJ) and make it fit into your J-body, maybe. That is one thing I hadn't tried to do, yet.
Other lower plate shape/designs are (which are different from each other):
A-body
B/R-body
C-body
All front wheel drive cars and minivans (until about 1990, or so)
pickup (up to 1993)
full size van
(I'm not sure about Dakota).