1987 Chyrsler 5th Avenue - Exterior Trim

Justwondering

Reaction score
Inherited my mother-in-law's 1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue - 39k mileage.
It needed a new headliner and vinyl landau but was otherwise cherry.

Until ...
A tall Silverado truck backed into the front end with the trailer hitch hitting the left front.
Broke up the light assembly, crushed the header panel, and left front fender.

http://www.forfmjbodiesonly.com/classicmopar/vbpicgallery.php?do=view&g=374

Took a couple of years, but I found a same year, color Fifth Avenue at Pick n Pull and removed the parts I needed.

This is my first try at body work, but finally figured out out to get the old parts off and the new ones on. Still needs a few fine alignment adjustments, but its looking pretty good, IMHO.

My current issue is recovering the landau roof and reupholstering the headliner and interior trim.

I have the new vinyl.
I have removed most of the interior trim (waiting on the rear pieces for the weather to cool off before I remove the seat).

I started removing the exterior garnish trim, but I need guidance (please).

I have read and re-read the service manual and studied the drawings, but I still don't get it. Is most of it on the rear door just pressure nuts and I need to just pry them off or is there something else holding that part of the vinyl (with the small emblem)?

Thanks in advance.

Justwondering

Reaction score
Here are the pictures of my problem area:
IMG_2675.jpg
this is the outside (oooohhh so attractive) Am trying to get the 'triangle' off. I have bumped the top bracket off the drip rail. I have removed the one screw from the inside-bottom right, in this picture. I have removed the bottom trim (breaking one of the pressure nuts in the process).. but need some reassurance that there are just clips and no screws.

IMG_2676.jpg
This is the inside.

IMG_2675.jpg

IMG_2676.jpg

lowbudget

Reaction score