Grumpy Lean Burn. sputtering and clicking on a 1988 Plymouth Gran Fury.

SonOfaTomP

Reaction score
Hi. while I'm not new to M body cars i am new to driving them. i have a 1988 Gran Fury with bad lean burn problems. some days the car runs like a charm while today the car acted up all the way home. the car makes a clicking sound at idle that can usually be cured by some revving though i don't like having to rev while someone is in front of me. today the clicking was constant. I've been told that the clicking is the lean burn computer freaking out. the car also has a habit of bucking me back and forth on rare occasions and today it was sputtering out of control. the car was vibrating and sounded like an old pickup truck. it cut of every time i came to a stop especially annoying while trying to park. thing is it worked fine while on the way to where i was going but the problem seemed to arise after i peeled out of a parking lot to avoid a collision with an oncoming speeding car. i have checked my fluids and they seem fine. one thing i have found that doesn't seem right is the choke was sitting wide open while the car was cold. any help with my situation would be greatly appreciated.

20190801_153835.jpg

Darth-Car

Reaction score
It still amazes me that folks are so quick to blame the Spark Control computer. There has not been a Lean Burn car made since the 70's. The only thing that the two systems have in common is the fact that there is a magic computer box on the side of the air cleaner. The innards of that box are totally different comparing a Lean Burn System to a Spark Control Computer system.

There are many cars out there that are successfully running around with the Spark Control Computer systems. Yours being an 88 should be no exception. :)