Magnum from Manual transmission to auto

Engine Swaps

  1. 71Newp

    71Newp Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Location:
    Maine
    Can a Magnum engine that came from a truck with a manual transmission be hooked up to an automatic transmission??? Thanks.
     
  2. Oldiron440

    Oldiron440 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Location:
    Iowa
    That is a very generic question and a very generic answer would be yes.
    But what is it you what to do?
     
  3. 71Newp

    71Newp Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Location:
    Maine
    I want to swap a 5.2 magnum that was from a manual transmission truck into a 1976 Cordoba with a 904. Is it a matter of unbolting the pilot sleeve bearing and then bolting on a flex plate, or are the crankshafts different? Anything else that would make it more difficult than using an engine from a auto transmission truck?
     
  4. 78VOLAREWAG

    78VOLAREWAG Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Location:
    PITTSBURGH PA
    FUNNY, I am wondering the opposite. Can I put a 5.2 magnum from an automatic truck in my 4 speed Volare.
     
  5. MiradaMegacab

    MiradaMegacab Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    362
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Internal/external engine balance and or selection of torque converter balance must be compatible.
     
  6. Opticon77

    Opticon77 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    SE PA
    Link>: Automatic Transmission Details

    5.2L makes things easier because it is internally balanced. Now trying to match the external balancing requirements of the 5.9L gets interesting.

    And I have certainly never heard of different crankshafts for Auto vs Manual.
     
  7. 5th avenue Rob

    5th avenue Rob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    The magnum has an area on the block that needs grinding to use the magnum starter on the non magnum 904 trans. But other than the flexplate and non balanced torque convertor should work.
     
  8. Ed Dorey

    Ed Dorey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Location:
    Kearney, mo
    From what I understand, the crankshaft in my 318 with a manual trans has an area machined out for a pilot bushing. An Automatic one would not have that area machined out so the input shaft from a manual would be too long. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong
     
  9. 5th avenue Rob

    5th avenue Rob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    I think all the cranks get machined for a pilot bushing. Only engines that never get a manual trans dont.
     
    Ed Dorey likes this.
  10. Ed Dorey

    Ed Dorey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Location:
    Kearney, mo
    I wonder if I have to specify that to Scat when I order my stroker kit?
     
    5th avenue Rob likes this.
  11. 5th avenue Rob

    5th avenue Rob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Maybe. Is that crank manufactured by them or an offset ground core? I would think most aplications would be performance based and should be machined for a pilot bushing.
     
    Ed Dorey likes this.
  12. 5th avenue Rob

    5th avenue Rob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    On a side note the only crank I have seen not machined for a pilot bushing was Cadillac 472 and 500s never came with a manual trans. But those are old engines and dont remember looking at my 5.9 magnum when I did my swap. I used a 999 and the only problem was the starter. Had to clearence a nub on the block.
     
  13. Ed Dorey

    Ed Dorey Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Location:
    Kearney, mo
    I thought about going with a 5.9 magnum but haven't seen a lot of performance parts for them like cams and intakes. Am I just looking in the wrong places?
     
  14. 80mirada

    80mirada Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Location:
    Wisconsin, West Bend depends
    Most have the Magnum heads remachined to take an LA series intake. Edelbrock has a Performer RPM Air-Gap for Magnums. They take most LA series performance parts
     
  15. 5th avenue Rob

    5th avenue Rob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    You need to contact Hughes Engine. They have everything you need for Magnum engines.
     
    Ed Dorey likes this.