Subframe swap help please

Chassis, Suspension and wheels

  1. MICRO

    MICRO Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Saturday
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a 1988 plymouth caravelle 318 car and a 1985 Chrysler 5th ave 318. Can the subframe from 5th ave direct bolt onto the caravelle without any major issues due to year difference and trim packages? Im building this car for my young fella and want to have him help.any info would be awesome. Thanks guys and sorry for posting this in the website help page first haha

    20200523_184758.jpg
     
  2. Aspen500

    Aspen500 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,909
    Likes Received:
    1463
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Location:
    Rib Mountain (Wausau) WI
    As long as both cars are V-8, direct bolt in. Any subframe from '76-'89 will interchange between any F, M or J body. Only thing different is a S6 has different engine mount brackets than a V-8. With Shumacher engine swap mounts you can bolt a V-8 onto a S6 subframe (just an FYI)
     
    MICRO likes this.
  3. MICRO

    MICRO Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Saturday
    Location:
    Canada
    Man your a lifesaver. Thank you for helping put another Plymouth back on the road.
     
  4. LSM360

    LSM360 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    Yep, he's correct. I put a subframe from '88 Gran Fury AHB into '80 Aspen A38 and it was direct bolt in. GF was 318 and Aspen 360.
     
  5. MICRO

    MICRO Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Saturday
    Location:
    Canada
    Im going to start the swap this Thursday/friday. Hopefully all goes smooth. Ill keep you guys updated. Thanks again for the help. Let me know of any tips to make it easier haha
     
  6. Aspen500

    Aspen500 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,909
    Likes Received:
    1463
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Location:
    Rib Mountain (Wausau) WI
    Let's hope rust isn't an issue with the mounting bolts!
    If you're not aware of it, you will need to unbolt the upper control arm brackets from the subframe to clear the frame rails. Either remove the nuts on the T-bolts for the control arm shafts or disconnect the upper ball joints to access the bracket bolts.
     
  7. MiradaMegacab

    MiradaMegacab Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    414
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Drill a 3/16” hole thru the frame rail at each one of the 4 K Frame attaching bolts. Spray RustBuster twice a day for a week in there to soak the bolts threads and to avoid having the “captured nut” strip and spin inside the frame rail...
     
  8. Aspen500

    Aspen500 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,909
    Likes Received:
    1463
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Location:
    Rib Mountain (Wausau) WI
    Good advice Mega. There's few things more frustrating than having a weld nut break loose inside a frame rail or something similar. Have had it happen WAY too many times at work with front subframe bolts when I'm lowering the powertrain out for repair. Bolt comes part way out and then,,,,,,,,,,,,spins. Next words out of my mouth are "oh darn" lol.
     
    MiradaMegacab likes this.